top of page

Doja Cat and the Satanic Panic in the Music Industry

For a long time now, Satanism, the Illuminati, alleged pacts with the devil, and other forms of supernatural powers have been associated with the popularity of major music stars.


From Lady Gaga and her cryptic lyrics to Beyoncé being crowned the queen of the Illuminati, it seems undeniable that supernatural demonic powers rule our world.


Don't get me wrong, I'm not here to scream about Satanism. I can't say for certain what exactly has led to the success of these celebrities today, apart from their undeniable talent, of course.


In this post, I would like to focus on the case of Doja Cat and the immense panic caused by her latest album, Scarlet, and its lead single, "Paint the Town Red."


With her distinctive voice, immense talent as a rapper, and deep self-irony, Doja Cat has captured the hearts of many, creating an extraordinary fanbase.


Doja's previous songs have always leaned towards musicality, with "catchy" and often self-ironic lyrics that cover a wide range of topics: love and femininity ("Woman"), sex ("Freak"), heartbreak ("Like You"), and many others.


However, in the summer of 2023, Doja's musicality and themes took a radical turn.

With the single "Paint the Town Red," the rapper maintains the same musicality and melodies she has presented in her previous albums, but the lyrics and music video take a completely different direction.


In the music video, Doja Cat appears completely disguised as a demon, or just chilling with Death himself. Most famously, she refers to herself as the devil in the chorus and depicts herself wearing pentagrams.





Fans have also noticed a change in the singer's behavior.

While she used to be a fun-loving girl who made hilarious TikToks and appeared very cheerful, rumors started swirling about her, such as her alleged relationship with J. Cyrus, who is famously known for being an abuser and has faced allegations of harassment, emotional abuse, and racism.

Doja's response to fans' outrage was clear: she doesn't give a f*ck.


Besides telling her fans to get out of her business, the 27-year-old musician talked about her dating life more vaguely in Harper's Bazaar Icons issue for September 2023. “I love love,” she said. “I’m possibly a serial dater. I definitely have had that in me a little bit... But right now I’m in a different place in my life where I am very committed and very much in love in a different way than before.” She added, “I think I’ve evolved. I’m learning to love myself.”


Apart from her personal and love life, of which I know little to nothing, and rightly so, Doja's inclination towards occult themes has become increasingly evident.


Spurred by an eccentric tattoo she posted on Instagram on April 16th, 2023, Doja Cat has been accused by many of being a Satanist.

In response to that particular controversy, Doja essentially trolled:




Doja subsequently centered the entire aesthetic of Scarlet around these allegations.


Doja Cat's song "Demons" features a disorienting, bass-heavy beat that sounds a little like a pop-ified version of something Tyler, the Creator might have made circa Goblin.


"How my demons look, now that my pockets full?"

The irony here is that Satanists are usually described as secretive, subliminal messengers.

Meanwhile, Doja, likely in sarcasm, calls complete attention to her apparent demonic nature and brags that it's made her more successful than ever before.





In essence, Doja is partially responsible for her lyrics (she has several co-writers who assist her), and choosing these supernatural and demonic themes may just be a strategy - in my opinion, a very effective one - to attract public attention.


Doja remains extremely talented, and despite her strong and defiant personality causing a stir among fans, I believe it's necessary to separate the art from the artist and appreciate the music.

Comments


bottom of page